Monday, July 25, 2011

10.7 has been out for five whole days! UPGRADE NOW!!


This stupidity has got to stop. Mac OS X "Lion" (10.7) was released FIVE DAYS AGO, and the Evernote people are already telling me that I have to upgrade? What for? I haven't really seen any compelling reason to drop everything and upgrade. From what I've heard, Apple's just screwing with the UI to make the Mac more like an iPhone while removing things like Flash, iSync, and the ability to run PowerPC apps. They've also made this thing a download-only upgrade that requires 10.6, which I never bought. Yeah. I'm skipping this one, too, and I have the feeling that I won't be missing much.

Seriously, this bleeding-edge, constant upgrade fever has got to stop. The idea that I have to keep pouring money into the cesspool of planned obsolescence is ridiculous, and I've decided not to participate. I barely noticed when 10.6 came and went. I'm sure I'll do just fine without 10.7. Consider this a strike on upgrading.

UPDATE: So apparently, the guys who make Evernote are so certain that you and I should be using the latest, crappiest version of the Mac OS X, that they've deleted all previous versions of Evernote from the Internet. Yeah, that sucks. Fortunately, I did some serious digging on their forum and found a version that still works with versions 10.5 and below.