Thursday, December 31, 2015



And this, my friends, is why I use an ad blocker most of the time. If you can't see, the GREEN button on the right is the button I have to click to download this software. The BLUE button on the LEFT is an AD for completely unrelated software.

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

WordPress missed schedules

I have a couple blogs that use WordPress. I used to use Blogger, but WordPress offered certain features that Blogger simply didn't have (which I won't get into right now). It seemed to work great for a while, but at some point WordPress decided to start ignoring my scheduled posts. When it would come time for one post or another it go live, it would shrug, label it "missed schedule" and go back to sleep. This seemed like the kind of problem that should be easy to solve with a bug fix from some developer, except nobody in the WordPress community has been able to fix it. Instead, the only solution they have is to disable the WordPress cron and set up your own command via cron to get it to work.

Which is great if it would work. But it doesn't. Well, at least not all the time. It worked once on one of my sites, but not on another. Anyway, if this happens to you, just remember one thing: SCHEDULED POSTS WILL NEVER WORK RELIABLY. No, not ever. They won't. Please don't try to find another solution. There is none. Especially not a plug-in that claims to fix the problem. It actually required another plug-in that will very easily break WordPress and every other site on tour server. It just happened to me, and I had to figure out how to disable the plug-ins via FTP to get everything back online.

So for now the solution is to post stuff manually. With no scheduling. Sorry. There is no solution.

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Syncing files: THE SOLUTION

So after much frustration in trying to sync files on two flash drives, I finally discovered the solution: I had been ripped off. Yes, I bought my second flash drive on eBay, where the seller claimed it was 64Gb in size, but in reality, it was a 4GB drive that had been HACKED to APPEAR to be 64GB in size. The file sync programs I was using weren't at fault at all — they simply had no way of knowing what size the flash drive actually was, copied what files they could, and then got terribly confused as they continued to write data to places that didn't exist.

So the solution turned out to be surprisingly simple: caveat emptor — buyer beware. If you see a 64GB flash drive on sale for $10, you didn't get a deal. It's like a $20 Rolex. It's fake, and you'll be sorry. Pay an extra $15 for that in-the-box flash drive from Kingston instead of the no-name drive from China. Trust me. It's not worth the hassle.

Thursday, June 4, 2015

Syncing files: SO DAMN HARD

So I have a USB Flash Drive for getting stuff done, namely graphic design work. Yes, I'm aware of the existence of Dropbox, but I'm the only one using these files, and I've had no problem working on them via a separate, tiny flash drive. Like any sensible person, I want to back these files up so I don't lose them when my flash drive inevitably falls out of my pocket and through a sewer grate.

This, apparently, is a ridiculously difficult task that no one has ever done before.

No, really. I have a second flash drive the exactly same size as the first. I can copy files between the two with a drag and drop, right? In theory, yes, but then Windows Explorer freezes and crashes for no reason or otherwise gets interrupted. A better idea would be a file synchronization program. You know, one that looks at the files and folders on both drives and then copies only what's needed from one to the other. Then I could pick up right where I left off, right?

Ha! I only wish.

Sure, I googled around for a free file synchronization program. You know, like FreeFileSync. I gave that program a try or two. It took ALL NIGHT to mirror my 30 gigabytes of files. But no problem, the hard part is done, right?

Except that it didn't copy all the files. See, I checked the "properties" and it looked like it had filled up the drive nice and neatly. But then when I did some more work and needed to sync to keep everything up to date, it acted like I had left half the drive untouched. I checked and I found whole folders left COMPLETELY EMPTY on my destination drive. I backed up again, which took a couple HOURS, and then I deleted one or two tiny GIFs so I could test a third backup. Result: FIVE MORE GIGABYTES TO COPY. This was a fail.

So I went to Synkron, a nice little app (when it runs and doesn't fall asleep into that white-out "Not Responding" mode). At the moment, it's syncing the same folder (I've given up on trying for the whole damn drive) that FreeFileSync couldn't seem to figure out, and it's very slowly copying all the same damn files that FreeFileSync had supposedly copied YESTERDAY.

So while I'm waiting for that charade to wrap up, I find out that Microsoft has a tool called SyncToy, which does pretty much the same thing the others do. I give it a run and discover that my destination drive is now completely full. This means that SyncToy will just have errors as it tries copying files to a drive that's already full, but SHOULDN'T BE because it's the same size as the source drive which ISN'T full. My suspicion is that one of the sync programs decided to spew a bunch of invisible files everywhere and fill up space, but none of the sync programs has the ever-so-useful option (as rsync does, which is NOT available for Windows) of DELETING files that shouldn't be there before trying to copy anything. Wouldn't that be nice?

So what's the solution? REFORMAT the destination drive and start all the hell over again. For the THIRD TIME.

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Encryption unsuccessful (AKA, your phone is bricked. Buy a new one!)

So I woke up last night at 3 AM with my phone (a ZTE AWE N800) screaming Virgin Mobile's horrible launch tones, happily announcing "Encryption Unsuccessful" and I have to do a factory reset and wipe all my data. Well that's just fine. I get to reset my damn phone and re-install everything, right? All my contacts, apps, everything, right? No problem. I have backups.

Except it doesn't work. I click the button for a factory reset. I hear the horrible screaming tones again, and I get the same error. This is what's referred to as a "boot loop," apparently. I go online hoping for a solution. (Because Google is SO good at finding solutions to this stuff, right?) Apparently, you can reset into Android's fix-it mode by holding the power and volume down keys (holding power and volume up boot with the letters FTM in a white box and do absolutely nothing else). So, from this screen I can do such useful things as "wipe data/factory reset," which should be what I want to do.

But it doesn't work. Reboot, and I get "Encryption Unsuccessful" once again.

So what's the solution now? Go to Google again and look for more answers that aren't there. Maybe I should "root" my device, "re-flash" the ROM, or apply any number of useless initials to my problem. (CWM or TWRP, anybody?) There are plenty of websites with people experiencing the exact same problem with the exact same phone, but absolutely no answers for anybody other than crap like "Get the unbrick kit and try that or get in recovery if u have twrp" and "tried loading update.zip and it failed." This problem is so pervasive one page actually tried luring people in to throw scammy spyware alerts at them. Most pages, however, just have people stating the problem with no solution. Heck, even Virgin Mobile has a Q&A page with this problem, with hilariously ineffective solutions such as rebooting the phone or dialing *86 (which you could only do if you were able to boot past this screen).

After just a few minutes (hours, actually), I start feeling like I have to be a third-level hacker just to use a damn phone, and I'm starting to realize that I have no choice but to just go and buy another one. These things are pretty much disposable, right? Everyone has four or five old cell phone in a drawer somewhere. Maybe this will be a good time to switch over to FreedomPop instead and pay $32/month instead of $42. The new phone pays for itself in less than a year, and this time I'm getting one with enough room so that it doesn't yell at me to delete some apps every time I use Facebook.

Win, right?